What's Good at Trader Joe's
Comment 1

Murasaki Sweet Potatoes and Organic Low Sodium Chicken Broth

Prepare for an onslaught of Trader Joe’s product reviews! Sinceย I became part of their awesome crew, I have been mentally noting down new things to try. Who knows how long this new thing of writing reviews about TJ’s products will last, given that I have been wonderfully inconsistent. Whatever. I’ve decided to rate how much I like the product by number of bells (from one to five bells ๐Ÿ””), since ringing the bell inside the store is a TJ’s kind of thing. On occasion I may include a guest rating (my cousin Megan, whom I trust in all matters relating to food and parking, and other personas) for added perspective on the product!

Murasaki Sweet Potatoes

IMG_6175

Lately, you’ll notice bags of purple colored sweet potatoes on the produce islands. These are the Murasaki Sweet Potatoes. The product description indicates, “striking purple skin enrobes lightly colored flesh, with a chestnut-y flavor and slightly fluffy texture that’s at home in savory or sweet preparations.”

The lighting in this is yellow, making everything… yellow. But the important thing to know is that the Murasaki lives up to it’s chestnut-y promise. Creamy taste, fluffy creamy texture.ย I’m a sweet potato purist at times, so these were cooked by steaming for approximately 25-30 minutes.

Barby’s rating: ๐Ÿ””๐Ÿ””๐Ÿ””๐Ÿ”” 4/5 bells

Megan’s rating: ๐Ÿ””๐Ÿ””๐Ÿ”” 3/5 bells (“It’s just a sweet potato.”)

Organic Low Sodium Chicken Broth

Made only from organic free range chickens, grown without using antibiotics, growth stimulants or other animal by-products. Ingredients include filtered water, organic chicken, organic chicken flavor, organic cane sugar, autolyzed yeast extract, organic onion powder, organic turmeric extract, natural flavor.

Ideally, broth would be made with organic chicken bones, onions, carrots, celery, and the rest of the fixings, but I haven’t had time for that lately and broth subscriptions for grass-fed cows and pasture raised chickens are so pricey! And I was curious.

It’s tastes okay. Not too salty, as expected. Would I use it again? Sure. But if I could make my own, collagen-rich chicken broth, I would.

Barby’s rating: ๐Ÿ””๐Ÿ””๐Ÿ”” 3.5/5 bells (I don’t know how to split a bell)

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

