New York
Comment 1

Spring is For Lovers

Last weekend, Roo and I trekked all the way to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens to see the cherry blossoms. From our lovely neighborhood of Queens, it took an hour and a half each way, and a total of about three or four transfers for the going there part.

We frolicked in the garden before the afternoon rain. People were lying down on the grass (I would have done the same, if I wasn’t so scared of bugs). There was a surprisingly minimal amount of people (I expected hordes, like in Japan last year). Families, friends (groups of women harassing branches for a nice group shot), couples, and more couples. If food was permitted inside, I’d have a basket with green tea or Yakult, and cookies.

So much trees, so much sunlight. Glorious clouds of pink overhead. Mom, these pictures are for you, because you remind me of springtime.

There were two kinds of cherry blossoms, the Japanese one, and the other one. (such a terrible flower geek). The shot below reminds me of that scene in Mulan where the emperor says to Shang, “The flower that blooms in adversity is the most rare and beautiful of all.”

Roo, and the tourists.

Before we saw the cherry blossoms, we passed through the Japanese garden.

Me and a little cop.

Obligatory boot photo.

Lilacs! They smelled so pretty.

Off I go now. Later this afternoon, a friend and I are catching the premiere of the new X-Men movie, with hopes of seeing Michael Fassbender and Ewan McGregor. TEEHEEHEE.

1 Comment

  1. MAfin says

    I imagine myself being their and looking up to a pink sky, almost within reach, and so beautiful to behold. Thanks for sharing it. I bless and thank God for His Awesome Wonders!

Leave a Reply

