Movie Review
Leave a Comment

A Premature Batman Evaluation

Seven things:

  1. As I type, Batman Begins (2005) and The Dark Knight (2008) are downloading. I haven’t read the comics (and still have no intention to) so I don’t know everything there is to know about Batman more than the movies I’ve watched. Hence, this is a premature evaluation because a better one would be for when I’ve seen Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, and The Dark Knight Rises (again). In sequence.
  2. The Dark Knight Rises was a richly detailed masterpiece by Christopher Nolan. I appreciate the portrayal of a broken down, cynical Bruce Wayne along with the portrayal of his human limitations. (and inhuman biceps). Not enough for me to offer my future firstborn offspring to the director, but enough to know it was money and time worthily spent.
  3. Michelle Pfeiffer is still the only Catwoman. (see video snippets of Batman Returns below. Better yet, watch the movie.)
  4. The kiss between Batman and Catwoman looked forced, with too little sexual tension riding on it to make it even necessary.
  5. Marion Cotillard would be perfect for playing an adult Arya (Game of Thrones). Child Miranda and Maisie Williams could be siblings.
  6. As much as I enjoyed The Dark Knight Rises, I still prefer The Dark Knight because The Joker was a more three dimensional villain. There’s no doubt that Miranda and Bane were cunning villains, but the villain who wins my heart is the one who challenges the very existence of morality, and uses the questions surrounding this philosophy to torment our hero and the citizens of Gotham. Villains who are evil, for no reason, are the most formidable.
  7. Miranda + Bane wanted to destroy Gotham because of its imperfection, corrupted state, and fallen nature. Bruce Wayne believed in saving the city because it had those very same qualities. According to a friend, Batman is her favorite superhero because he was a vigilante who didn’t just want to save the city from harm and be done with it, but bring the city together and make it stronger/better. I find that admirable, because saving a city/world/empire from doom is one thing, but immersing/involving oneself in the people, culture, system, and shit of a city in order to change it from within is a more elevated level of heroism. 

I am Catwoman. Hear me roar.

Meow.

Leave a Reply

